Monday, October 17, 2011

Silver Fern vs NZ Blue Ensign at RWC 2011

When you fly the Silver Fern flag, here is a list of the RWC 2011 teams you could be referring to:
  • NZ All Blacks

When you fly the NZ national flag - the NZ Blue Ensign - here is a list of RWC 2011 teams you could be referring to, who have players or coaches from New Zealand:
  • NZ All Blacks
  • Manu Samoa
  • Flying Fijians
  • Tongan Sea Eagles
  • Japanese Cherry Blossoms
  • England national rugby union team
  • Wales national rugby union team
  • Canadian Canucks
  • Australian Wallabies
  • Romanian Oaks
  • Ireland national rugby union team
  • USA Eagles

In fact, there are only 8 teams you are NOT supporting when you fly the NZ Blue Ensign: Scotland, France, Italy, Georgia, South Africa, Namibia, Argentina, Russia.

This is (one reason) why people use the Silver Fern flag at the RWC and not the NZ flag. It doesn't mean they have adopted a different flag for New Zealand - just for a rugby team.

No comments:

Post a Comment